Dakar 2015 Stage 2: Al-Attiyah wins in cars with Mini, Carlos Sainz 8th

We continue our look at what happened in the second stage of Dakar and tell after the victory of Joan Barreda in bikes had to cars where the winner was Nasser Al-Attiyah. Mini driver has been the best throughout the day and has also been placed as overall leader.

The Toyota Hilux of Giniel de Villiers and Ten Brinke were 2nd and 3rd in a day in which differences have been great. Carlos Sainz was the best Peugeot qualifying eighth at 20 minutes behind the leader. Worse has fared Stephane Peterhansel has lost more than an hour while Nani Roma has re-enlisted into the race with a car that is not 100% and which is losing many minutes.


The 518 kilometers of special were very hard and favored vehicles with four wheel drive except the last kilometers with sandy dunes and was more favorable for the two-wheel drive as the Peugeot. Despite what happened to Rome we must not forget that the Mini are the strongest and most reliable of cars raid and they showed Al-Attiyah and Newfoundland , leaders in the early waypoints with a difference between the two lower half a minute.

The Toyota Hilux made a big step. The pace of Al-Attiyah was unattainable because the Qatari attacked their best to win with a time of 5 hours, 4 minutes and 50 seconds but at least they were second and third at 8 and 10 minutes behind the leader. Newfoundland fell of these privileged positions after suffering problems in the final part of the stage in which lost the right track.

Between Toyota and Mini have cornered the first 7 places of classification and to find the first Peugeot have come down to eighth. In this position Carlos Sainz lost 20 minutes and had trouble find a bike in the opposite direction was classified. Stephane Peterhansel and Cyril Despres, co-Sainz, gave more than an hour so it seems clear that the DKR 2008 are suffering the problems of youth that it was foreseeable that took in his return to the raid .

Starting Tuesday hardness raid is lowered. Al-Attiyah will start as overall leader of the third stage with 7 minutes and 42 seconds ahead of De Villiers. Ten Brinke is third at 9:42 and Sainz is eight to 20 minutes behind the leader.