The winners of the 2016 Laureus Awards

The city of Berlin hosted the gala 2016 Laureus Awards. Some awards were as major players in tennis and rugby. Then we will know all the winners at a gala in which ten statuettes, one of them posthumously were distributed.

Best Male Athlete for Novak Djokovic

Serbian tennis player Novak Djokovic was chosen as the best athlete in the men’s category, a category in which they were also nominated Leo Messi, Stephen Curry or Lewis Hamilton, among others. Djokovic, who also was voted best player of last season, has already received this award two times, in 2015 and in 2012.


Best Female Athlete for Serena Williams

The award for the best athlete in the women was also for a tennis player: Serena Williams. WTA number one and once again chosen as best player last year, is the third time that the US receive this award from the Laureus Foundation, which also awarded in 2007 in the category of best return.

Best team for the New Zealand national rugby union team

The All Blacks, nickname by which he is known to the New Zealand national rugby union team, was chosen as the best team award received for the first time. The All Blacks were world champions rugby in 2015, becoming the first country in history to win the World Cup for two consecutive occasions, so the jury has chosen them in a category in which he was nominated for the Football Club Barcelona.

Best return for Dan Carter, rugby player

One of the members of the rugby team, Dan Carter, was chosen to receive the award for best return, where many pointed as favorite Michael Phelps. New Zealand, with ’10’ on his back, he again demonstrated during the World why they consider as the best opening of all time , and 33 years was also voted best player rugby award he has received three times.

Athlete award for Jordan Spieth revelation

The jury considered the best breakthrough during the last year in the world of sport has been to Jordan Spieth, golfer United States. During 2015, Spieth won the Masters and the Open of the United States, among other tournaments, which led him to be in the No. 1 world ranking, becoming the new sensation of the sport.

Best Action deporstista Jan Frodeno

The category of best athlete of action, which come into play extreme sports, has been for Jan Frodeno. Frodeno is a German athlete of 34 who specialized in triathlon, winning for example gold at the 2008 Summer Olympics, and now has specialized in the discipline of Ironman, winning in 2015 the world championship.

Best disabled athlete to Daniel Dias

The swimmer Daniel Dias named best disabled or Paralympian was. Specialist swimming , nobody in Brazil can boast as many medals as Dias. For example, only during 2015, Dias won eight medals, seven of them gold, in the world and eight other medals, and all of them gold, at the Pan American Championships.

Award entire career for Niki Lauda

The former Formula 1 driver Niki Lauda recognition of his career was. Lewis Hamilton, the last champion of the world of Formula 1, was the one who delivered to Lauda this award, an Austrian athlete who went on to win the world title three times and, after leaving the steering wheel, has continued always linked to the world of motor from outside.

Sports for Good Award for Moving the Goalposts

Since 2014, the Laureus Academy presents an award to institutions that, through sport, made a commendable social work. In this 2016, the prize goes to Moving the Goalposts. It is a partnership that, through football attempts to integrate the girls in a poor society and have few opportunities due to gender differences even within a region of Kenya.

Sportsmanship Award for Johan Cruyff

The death of Johan Cruyff was one of the saddest news so far in 2016 as far as sport is concerned. The Dutchman was remembered during the gala very emotionally when he received, posthumously, the Sportsmanship Award, a recognition that was picked up by his son, the former player Jordi Cruyff, Carles Puyol hands.

The winners of the 2015 Laureus Awards

2015 laureus awards

In Shanghai, China, have given the 2015 Laureus Awards, which this year met its fifteenth edition. Of these Oscars of sport, Spain has not gone that well. Although we had nominated Marc Marquez and Real Madrid and that seemed good choices, none has been one of the 2015 Laureus these whose winners now go over.

Serbian tennis player Novak Djokovic, currently continues as world No. 1 ATP, took the prize in the category of best athlete category in which he was also nominated Cristiano Ronaldo and Marc Márquez. The Ethiopian athlete Genzebe Dibaba won the award in the female category, world champion in the 3000 meters and recordwoman at various distances on track.

2015 laureus awards

The selection of Germany was the one that took the prize for best team, having proclaimed world champion in the World played in Brazil in the summer of 2014, leaving Real Madrid award, which was next to the Spanish Márquez options. A Marquez happens in the category of best breakthrough Daniel Ricciardo, the pilot of Red Bull F1. Continue reading “The winners of the 2015 Laureus Awards”

Cristiano Ronaldo wins 2014 FIFA Ballon d’Or

The 2014 FIFA Ballon d’Or already has an owner: Cristiano Ronaldo. As expected, the Portuguese footballer has been who has received from the president of FIFA, Sepp Blatter, the award for best player of the year award winning for the third time in his career, one with Manchester United in 2008 and the last two consecutive years as a player of Real Madrid.

The now former French footballer Thierry Henry announced the name of Cristiano Ronaldo, chosen by players, coaches and journalists ahead of the other two finalists, Messi and Neuer. Ronaldo numbers in the year have been simply overwhelming: 61 goals in 60 games, top scorer in the Spanish league and Champions League record for goals with 17, in an edition.

2014 FIFA Ballon d'Or

He has also won four titles in his contribution was fundamental: Champions League, the Copa del Rey, the UEFA Super Cup and Club World Cup. His only must the World loose with Portugal, became physically touched and fell in the first phase. Continue reading “Cristiano Ronaldo wins 2014 FIFA Ballon d’Or”